Jordi Savall, Honorary Member of the Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia

Jordi Savall has been elected honorary member of one of the most ancient and prestigious musical institutions of the world: the Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia, founded in 1585.

Jordi Savall has been named honorary academic of the Italian institution together with Kirill Petrenko, principal conductor of the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra, and thus becomes part of an honorary list to which belong such important names as Daniel Baremboin, Phillip Glass, Placido Domingo, Zubin Mehta, Anne Sophie Mutter or Itzhak Perlman, among others.

The Roman academy, based in the Ennio Morricone Auditorium in the Italian capital, has also named Sara Mingardo, Ottavio Dantone and Massimo Biscardi as the three new musicians who make up its assembly.